Beverley Logo Catterick Logo Doncaster Logo Pontefract Logo Redcar Logo Ripon Logo Thirsk Logo Wetherby Logo York Logo

Go Racing In Yorkshire, the marketing organisation for Yorkshire’s nine racecourses is celebrating the county’s racing achievements with a ‘virtual’ awards ceremony.

Although the coronavirus pandemic caused a premature end to the 2019/20 jump season and a late start for the 2020 flat season there has still been much to celebrate throughout the year. 


General Manager of Go Racing In Yorkshire, Charlotte Russell, said: “We usually host a lunch and get all the winners together to celebrate everything that is good about racing in Yorkshire.  Obviously we couldn’t go ahead with that this year, so we have followed the 2020 trend and gone virtual! 


“We have worked with RaceTech, who put the films together for us and sponsored the milestone awards.” 


Warwickshire-based Dan Skelton had 16 winners in Yorkshire to be the leading jump trainer. He was six ahead of his nearest rivals defending champion Philip Kirby and Donald McCain, while the jockey equivalent was won by Yorkshire-based champion jockey Brian Hughes. 


Crombie Wilkinson Solicitors sponsored the leading jump trainer and jockey in Yorkshire for the 2019/2020 jump season. The Legal 500-accredited and leading North Yorkshire-based legal firm is well known for its involvement, support and work with the Yorkshire racing community, particularly in the North Yorkshire area, advising individuals and business owners on their legal matters.


Clair Douglas, Head of the Agricultural and Landed Estates Team at Crombie Wilkinson said: It has been a pleasure to follow the 2019/2020 jump season in Yorkshire.   


“It is really wonderful to see former winners of the jump award Dan Skelton taking the trainer’s title and Brian Hughes winning the jockeys award.  We are looking forward to continuing our sponsorship and relationship with Go Racing In Yorkshire for the 2020/2021 jump season.”  


This year, we welcomed McClarrons Sport as sponsors of the leading Flat trainer and jockey in Yorkshire. Insurance specialists McClarrons Sport work across a plethora of sports, offering sports contingency advice from their Head Office in Malton, across the globe. 


Tim Easterby was a clear winner of the Flat Trainer award with 55 winners across Yorkshire’s courses, while Ben Curtis was the leading Flat jockey in Yorkshire, riding 41 winners in the county, just one ahead of nearest rival and defending champion Danny Tudhope. 


Garry Davies, Director at McClarrons Sport, said of the sponsorship: “We are delighted to have been able to support Go Racing Yorkshire. Following the excitement of the season gave us all an opportunity to celebrate something this year!  


“Huge congratulations to Malton-based Tim Easterby in finishing the season as top trainer, and to Thirsk-based Ben Curtis for taking the title for jockey for the first time. We hope it won’t be long until we’re able to really enjoy the buzz of racing again!” 


After her amazing performances abroad, Glass Slippers was awarded the Yorkshire Horse of the Year accolade.  The superstar mare, trained by Kevin Ryan and ridden by Tom Eaves, had two runs in England before winning the Group 1 Derrinstown Stud Flying Five Stakes at the Curragh in September and following up in the Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint in Keeneland in November. 


The latter win will go down in the history books as she became the first European winner of this race since changes were made to the Sprint in 2008. 


Chairman of Go Racing In Yorkshire, John Sexton, said “I want to congratulate all the winners on their magnificent achievements and to thank our sponsors for continuing to support the awards in what are unprecedented times.   


“I was particularly pleased to see Glass Slippers win Horse of the Year in Yorkshire.  I am old enough to remember Sheikh Albadou winning the Breeders Cup Sprint for Britain in 1991, so I know her win at Keeneland was truly exceptional. My congratulations go to Kevin Ryan and all the team at Hambleton. 


“These awards remind us of what we are missing and I hope it will not be too long before we shall all be enjoying racing again on the nine superb racecourses in Yorkshire.” 


Other milestones to be recognised this year are for those who have hit the 1,000-winner mark.  Awards were presented to trainers David O’Meara, John Quinn and Micky Hammond while Yorkshire based jockeys who have reached the same landmark are David Allan and PJ McDonald. 


Paul Hanagan was also recognised for riding his 2,000th flat winner in November. 


Videos of all the awards can be found on Go Racing In Yorkshire’s social media channels and on our YouTube channel