Go Racing at

Pontefract Racecourse

Beverley Logo Catterick Logo Doncaster Logo Pontefract Logo Redcar Logo Ripon Logo Thirsk Logo Wetherby Logo York Logo

Racecourse Association Showcase Champions!


Experience a fantastic day out at one of Yorkshire’s most traditional racecourses and recently crowned champions at the Racecourse Association Showcase Awards.

You’ll get a warm, friendly, Yorkshire welcome at each of the 16 race meetings that Pontefract stage this summer. Whether it’s the glamour of Ladies day, one of the fabulous Friday night music nights or one of the three family Sundays, there is something for everyone.

With international superstars at Disco Night and Flat Caps & Whippets on Father’s Day in 2020, there are some exciting racedays ahead! With options to suit every budget and food for every palate, a day out at Pontefract is always a winner!

Pontefract stages five Listed Races during the season. The racecourse is in all probability the longest continuous track in the world staging Flat racing. The Marathon Handicap Stakes at the second meeting of the season is Britain’s longest handicap race on the Flat.
The first recorded meeting at Pontefract in the Racing Calendar took place in 1801, although there’s evidence to show that there was racing in the area as long ago as the Civil War. Racing at Pontefract was staged during the Second World War, with the course hosting four Lincoln Handicaps.

Pontefract Park Race Company Ltd., The Administration Office, Pontefract Racecourse, Park Lane, Pontefract, West Yorkshire, WF8 4QD
Thursday September 23
1:00 pm - 7:00 pm Pontefract Flat Race
Monday October 4
1:00 pm - 7:00 pm Pontefract Flat Race
Monday October 18
1:00 pm - 7:00 pm Pontefract Flat Race
No event found!
Monday 28th June The Art of Racing Raceday (Part 1)
Tuesday 6th July A Very Yorkshire Raceday
Sunday 25th July Go Racing in Yorkshire Summer Festival Family Day/Tribute bands family day
Wednesday 4th August Ladies Day
Sunday 15th August In The Zone Family Day
Friday 3rd September 'Queen' Night and Beer Festival
Thursday 16th September The Art of Racing Raceday (Part 2)
Thursday 23rd September All About the Racing In September
Monday 4th October Autumn Racing In October
Monday 18th October Closing Ceremony and National Hunt Handover