Join us at our

Family Days

Beverley Logo Catterick Logo Doncaster Logo Pontefract Logo Redcar Logo Ripon Logo Thirsk Logo Wetherby Logo York Logo

Great value day out


Did you know that racing offers a great value for money family day out? All of Yorkshire’s nine racecourses host at least one family day with themed events to entertain the children which conveniently fall in the school holidays.

Fun for everyone


In addition to the action on the track and the chance to see the magnificent horses up close, there is additional entertainment, with something for all ages and interests.  Children (under 18’s) are FREE at nearly all meetings when accompanied by an adult – please check the fixture you wish to attend by visiting the racecourse website.

And the value for money doesn’t stop there!  Picnics are welcome in the family enclosure, but there will be plenty of food options available at the course and look out for the ice-cream van!

Family Day’s include everything from the Easter Bunny to circus skills and fairground rides.  There’s things to do on Father’s Day, plus music and fancy dress.

The sounds of laughter from the youngsters, the smiles on their faces along with the space to run around and have fun will certainly help them burn off energy and sleep well, dreaming about the fun at the races.  So head down to the racecourse and make memories with your family and friends.

For more information about family days at a course near you, visit the fixtures or the racecourse website, plus there are some dates below.

Watch the video below to see what Strictly Come Dancing’s Tess Daly has been finding out about family days.

March
Sunday 27th March – Doncaster – Family Fun Raceday

April
Wednesday 13th April – Beverley-Family Raceday with children’s entertainment and the Easter Bunny!
Thursday 14th April – Ripon-Easter Family Raceday
Friday 15th April – Middleham Open Day
Monday 18th April – Redcar – Easter Monday Family Raceday
Wednesday 20th April – Catterick – Easter Family Raceday
Sunday 24th April – Wetherby – Family Raceday featuring the Mascot Gold Cup

May
Monday 2nd May – Beverley – Bank Holiday Family Fun Day
Sunday 15th May – Ripon – Traditional Family Day
Saturday 28th May – Beverley – A Very British Raceday

June
Thursday 2nd June – Redcar– Zetland Gold Cup Family Day
Friday 3rd June – Catterick – Jubilee Raceday
Sunday 12th June – Doncaster – Summer Family Fun Raceday
Sunday 19th June – Pontefract – Father’s Day 

July
Sunday 17th July – Redcar – Circus Family Fun Day
Sunday 24th July – Pontefract – Tribute Band’s Family Day

August
Monday 1st August – Ripon – Fancy Dress Family Day
Tuesday 2nd August – Catterick – Family Day
Friday 5th August – Thirsk – Circus Family Day
Saturday 6th August – Redcar – Caribbean Carnival Family Day
Sunday 14th August – Pontefract – In the Zone Family Day
Monday 15th August – Catterick – Family Day
Friday 26th August – Thirsk – All Creatures Great and Small Family Day
Sunday 28th August – Beverley – Family Raceday
Monday 29th August – Ripon – Bank Holiday Family Day

September
Sunday 4th September – York – YorkMix Family Raceday
Sunday 11th September – Malton Open Day

Laughter & Fun