Beverley Logo Catterick Logo Doncaster Logo Pontefract Logo Redcar Logo Ripon Logo Thirsk Logo Wetherby Logo York Logo


As part of excitements of Friday of the Welcome to Yorkshire Ebor Festival (20 August), Battaash, the two-time winner of the Group 1 Coolmore Nunthorpe and course record holder for the five-furlong trip will visit York to parade in front of the stands, as a farewell to racegoers, following his retirement earlier this month.

By kind permission of Sheikha Hissa Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum, and with the generous support of Charlie Hills and his Faringdon Place team, the hugely popular gelding will be at the Knavesmire for York racegoers and ITV and Racing TV’s audience to see.  To help celebrate him, the plan is for the two-time champion to parade in front of the grandstands ahead of the 2021 edition of the Group One Coolmore Wotton Bassett Nunthorpe Stakes.


Battaash’s record breaking 55.90 second performance over the 1,000 metre course in the Coolmore Nunthorpe of 2019, poignantly in front of his late and much missed owner HH Sheikh Hamdan, made him officially the quickest ever on the Knavesmire when beating Dayjur’s 29-year-old record.  Brilliant, blisteringly quick, characterful and enigmatic are just some of the words to describe this seven-year old’s career, which included being, in both 2018 and 2019, the highest rated sprinter in the world and Cartier Sprinter of the Year.


This year’s renewal of the Coolmore Wootton Bassett Nunthorpe is a mouth-watering prospect with the fastest horses from France, America, Ireland, England and Yorkshire set to converge on the Knavesmire.  A giant screen dedicated to showing the stopwatch for the race, will relay the fascinating story of any of the new generation overhauling Battaash’s own record.


As Bob Grace, his long-time stable hand has also recently retired, it will fall to Bluey Cannon to marshal him on the day.  Our thanks to HH Sheikha Hissa, all at Shadwell and Faringdon Place for their support as we celebrate a true equine sporting hero of York Racecourse and British Racing.