Catterick Racecourse is one of the true homes of the Northern racing scene – a venue steeped in tradition and a favourite among many of the region’s owners, trainers and racing public.
Racing at Catterick Bridge began as early as the mid-17th Century and the first recorded meeting took place on April 22nd 1783, but it was not until 1813 that a permanent course was created.
Today, Catterick is a charming blend of old and new. The framework of the old 1906 stand is still evident in the present Grandstand but many alterations and improvements have taken place while maintaining the informal atmosphere.
As well as being the busiest Racecourse in North Yorkshire with racing all year round, Catterick prides itself on being the friendliest and provides a fun relaxed day out for everyone whatever the occasion.
New Year’s Day Meeting ( Tues 1st Jan)
North Yorkshire Grand National Day (10th Jan)
Go Racing In Yorkshire Summer Festival Day (Wed 24th July)
Family Day (Tue 6th Aug)
Ladies’ Evening ( Wed 28th Aug)
Catterick’s first recorded meeting was in 1783 and a permanent course was created in 1813 in the grounds of what was then the estate of Brough Hall. A large stand was erected in 1906 and in 1923 the Catterick Race Company was formed.