Apprentice Series

The 2017 Apprentices Series races

Doncaster – Sat 1 April,  Ripon – Thurs 20 April

Pontefract – Wed 3 May,  Wetherby – Mon 15 May

Beverley – Tues 27 June,  Redcar – Sun 23 July,

Thirsk –  Fri 4 August,  York – Sun 10 September,

Catterick – Sat 21 Oct

Final – Doncaster 11 November

Round 4:  Wetherby

A division in the Wetherby race meant that double points were up for grabs and it worked to the advantage of rising star Connor Murtagh, who jumped into a clear lead in this year’s competition when he rode the Wilf Storey-trained Mr Sundowner to win the first division and followed up with fifth on Druid’s Diamond in division two.

The accumulation of 20 points to go with the nine from his second place on Noah Amor in the previous round at Pontefract took Murtagh 11 points clear of the field with the chasing pack made up of all the riders to have landed winners in the previous rounds of the competition.

They include Phil Dennis, who got his first points of this year’s competition when he partnered Mrs Biggs to win the second division, showing real determination on the Declan Carroll-trained mare, who had led until three furlongs out and then battled back gamely to grab the initiative again entering the final furlong.

Leader Board

Connor Murtagh  29
Phil Dennis 18
David Egan 18
Callum Rodriguez 18
Harrison Shaw 18
Tina Smith 18
Clifford Lee  15
Megan Nicholls  15
Raymond Dawson 9
Ben Sanderson 9
William Cox 6
Ryan Timby 6
Jamie Gormley 5
Kieran Schofield 4
Paula Muir 3
Cameron Noble 3
Mitch Godwin 2
Ben Robinson 2
Patrick Vaughan 2
Lewis Edmunds 1
David Parkes 1
Gemma Tutty 1
Jordan Uys 1

2016 Winner Rowan Scott’s blog

A few things have changed since my last blog. I’ve moved up to Keith Dalgleish’ Yard in South Lanarkshire. I’d been thinking of making the move for a while and i felt it was the right time to go for me to progress. It was the hardest decision I’ve had to make in my career, Ann and George Duffield were really good to me.I was really young when I started there and they looked out for me, as well as teaching me a great deal about racing.

The season’s started off really well with a winner on the 2nd day of the turf at Doncaster aboard Zoravan for the new boss and ontoawinner syndicate. He’s an exciting prospect for the season ahead having only run on the all weather previously, the main query was if he would handle the switch to turf but ended up winning impressively and i’m sure there will be more to come from him. I’ve also been lucky enough to steer Taxmeifyoucan to a 15L victory, he is definitely worth keeping an eye on. Miss Bar Beach ran a cracker first time out at Beverley when the penny dropped halfway through the race, she’s going in the right direction and should break her maiden tag before long.






I was delighted to win the Go Racing in Yorkshire Apprentice Series, i didnt think i was in the running but it turns out all the frustrating 2nd places I was getting counted for something!

    I come from a little town in the Scottish Borders called Hawick. As a kid my first love was Rugby and my ambition to play for Scotland. That dream seemed to get further and further away from me as I watched all my Rugby mates get bigger and bigger. The obvious thing to do was to stick to my pony Ginger (in more ways than one), he taught me a lot about staying on a horse. It didn’t take me long to fall in love with riding. I started helping out at Alistair Whillans yard, when he realised I couldn’t even lift the water buckets I’d been filling he bravely let me loose on the gallop when I was 13. I got the bug from then on and will always be grateful for what I learned there and still go and ride out any chance I get. It was a family friend who put me in touch with Ann and George Duffield. I jumped at the chance of becoming their apprentice having spent a few school holidays on the yard. George is a massive help, meticulously going through every race, he gives me a lot of his time and I have the utmost respect for him and Ann.

    After we got all the yearling broken in and ridden away winter started off with a nice break in Abu Dhabi, for HH Sheikha Fatima Bint Mubarak Apprentice World Championship. The festival consists of 12 arabian races around the world throughout the year, then the final is in November in Abu Dhabi. I’ve been lucky enough to travel to Chantilly, San Francisco and Poland from this great initiative for young jockeys. I was meant to be representing Great Britain in the final but unfortunately the horse was pulled out the day before. The trip on the whole was a lot of fun (not to mention educational) and i met and caught up with some great people and real characters!

    Dr. George Wilson from Liverpools JMU was one these characters. His nutrional and exercise plan has helped me no end to getting my weight under control for the season ahead. It is easy to let your weight creep up when you take your eye off the ball or when things aren’t going as well as you’d hoped. But getting it back down isn’t quite as easy. Friend and jockey coach Phil Kinsella is a great help to me, always on the other end of the phone for advice or just to keep my head straight.

    Rides can be few and far between at this time of the year but i have had a busier January than in previous years so hopefully that’s a good sign of things to come. My aims for the season ahead are abviously to ride as many winners as possible but on top of that to improve as much as i can and make some long lasting contacts to set me up for seasons ahead. It would be nice to win this series again.

    We have an exciting bunch of 2 year-olds at Sun Hill for 2017. My pick of the colts is Shades Of Mist, by Lilbourne Lad out of Talqaa he’s big strong lad with a bit of growing to do yet but has shown a bit on the gallop so far and has a good attitude. My pick of the filly’s would have to be Clifftop Dancer, by Canford Cliffs out of Dance To The Top. She’s not the biggest but she’s sharp, well put together and also has the right attitude. The two older horses i’m most looking forward to riding are Ajman Prince for the Whillans’, he can be quite quirky at home and before the race but has shown good ability and i’m hopeful there will be more to come from him on the track this year. The other horse i’m looking forward to riding is the 9 year-old Bertiewhittle of Mr. Barron’s, he has given me two winners at York so far. Racing at York is always very competitive, everyone wants winners at this prestigious track.

Whte Rose Saddlery Future Stars Apprentice Series winner Rowan Scott
Whte Rose Saddlery Future Stars Apprentice Series winner Rowan Scott

White Rose Saddlery

White Rose Saddlery





2013 – Gary Mahon
(attached to Tim Easterby)

2014 – Megan Carberry
(attached to Brian Ellison)

2015 – Josh Doyle (attached to David OMeara)



Latest News
Alison Storey of York Racecourse wins tourism award for customer service

York Racecourse is delighted that  Alison Storey, the Chief Receptionist at the course, has won a Visit York Tourism Award. Her success came in the Outstanding Customer Service Category where her work, as the first point of contact for many of the 350,000 visitors to the Knavesmire was recognised. Presented at a glittering ceremony, in the National Railway museum, the evening was a celebration of the tourism industry in the city and surrounding area. Only last week, York was voted as the Best Racecourse of the Year by the members of the Racegoers Club for the 4th time, another accolade where Alison will have played her part. Speaking about her award, Alison said, "I'm flattered to have been the one collecting the award but it really is a team effort, so it is a team award. T... (Read More)