Join us at our

Family Days

Beverley Logo Catterick Logo Doncaster Logo Pontefract Logo Redcar Logo Ripon Logo Thirsk Logo Wetherby Logo York Logo

Great value day out


Did you know that racing offers a great value for money family day out? All of Yorkshire’s nine racecourses host at least one family day with themed events to entertain the children which conveniently fall in the school holidays.

Fun for everyone


In addition to the action on the track and the chance to see the magnificent horses up close, there is additional entertainmnet, with something for all ages and interests.  Children (under 18’s) are FREE at nearly all meetings when accompanied by an adult – please check the fixture you wish to attend by visiting the racecourse website.

And the value for money doesn’t stop there!  Picnics are welcome in the family enclosure, but there will be plenty of food options available at the course and look out for the ice-cream van!

The sounds of laughter from the youngsters, the smiles on their faces along with the space to run around and have fun will certainly help them burn off energy and sleep well, dreaming about the fun at the races.  So head down to the racecourse and make memories with your family and friends.

For more information about family days at a course near you, visit the fixtures or the racecourse website, plus there are some dates below.

Watch the video below to see what Strictly Come Dancing’s Tess Daly has been finding out about family days.

March
Sunday 29th March – Doncaster – The Magical World of Racing

April
Wednesday 8th April – Catterick – Easter Family Day, including a petting farm
Thursday 9th April – Wetherby – Easter Eggstravaganza
Monday 13th April – Redcar – Easter Monday Family Raceday
Thursday 16th April – Ripon – Easter Family Day
Sunday 26th April – Wetherby – Family Raceday featuring the Poundland Mascot Gold Cup

May
Friday 8th May – Beverley – VE Raceday
Sunday 17th May – Ripon – Traditional Family Day
Saturday 23rd May – Beverley – A Very British Raceday
Monday 25th May – Redcar – Zetland Gold Cup Sports Day
Wednesday 27th May – Beverley – The Big Sports Raceday

June
Sunday 14th June – Doncaster – Dinocaster 2 Family Fun Day
Sunday 21st June – Pontefract – Father’s Day and Flat Cap and Whippet Family day

July
Sunday 19th July – Redcar – Family Fun Day
Sunday 26th July – Pontefract – Tribute Band’s Family Day
Tuesday 28th July – Beverley – Roll Up Roll Up family Raceday

August
Monday 3rd August – Ripon – Children’s Fancy Dress Day
Tuesday 4th August – Catterick – Forces Family Day
Friday 7th August – Thirsk – All Creatures Great & Small Family Day
Saturday 8th August – Redcar – Caribbean Carnival Day
Monday 10th August – Ripon – Family Brick Adventure II
Sunday 16th August – Pontefract – In the Zone Family Day
Monday 17th August – Catterick – Racing Careers Family Day
Friday 28th August – Thirsk – Pirates Family Day
Sunday 30th August – Beverley – Family Raceday
Monday 31st August – Ripon – Bank Holiday Family Day

September
Sunday 6th September – York – Family Raceday

Laughter & Fun