Family Fun

Did you know that racing offers a great value for money family day out?  All of Yorkshire’s nine racecourses host at least one family day with themed events to entertain the children which conveniently fall in the school holidays.

In addition to the action on the track and the chance to see the magnificent horses up close, there is something for all ages and interests with Dinosaurs, Paw Patrol, Pirates, a Circus and ‘Build a Brick Adventures’ to mention just a few.  Children (under 18’s) are FREE at all meetings so it’s only the accompanying adults that need to pay for admission.  Picnics are welcome in the family enclosure, but look out for the ice-cream van!

The sounds of laughter from the youngsters, the smiles on their faces along with the space to run around and have fun will certainly give them a good night’s sleep, dreaming about the fun at the races, so make memories with your family and friends.  But don’t just take our word for it, hear what David Walliams has to say!

For more information about family days at a course near you, visit the fixture list or the racecourse website.

Wednesday 17th April – Beverley ‘Easter Family Day’
Thursday 18th April – Ripon ‘Easter Family Day’
Monday 22nd April – Redcar ‘Easter Monday Family Day’
Sunday 28th April – Wetherby ‘Family Day featuring the Mascot Gold Cup’

Monday 6th May – Beverley ‘Bygone Beverley Raceday’ (Bank Holiday)
Sunday 19th May – Ripon ‘Traditional Family Day’
Monday 27th May – Redcar ‘Zetland Gold Cup Sports Day’
Wednesday 29th May – Beverley ‘Half Term Raceday with Hull FC’

Saturday 8th June – Beverley ‘A Very British Raceday’
Sunday 16th June – Doncaster ‘Dinocaster Family Fun Day’
Sunday 23rd June – Pontefract ‘Flat Cap and Whippet Family Day’

Sunday 21st July – Redcar ‘1940’s Revival Day Supporting Help For Heroes’
Sunday 28th July – Pontefract ‘Tribute Bands Family Day’
Tuesday 30th July – Beverley ‘Paw Patrol Family Raceday’

Monday 5th August – Ripon ‘Family Brick Adventure’
Tuesday 6th August – Catterick ‘Forces Family Day’
Friday 9th August – Thirsk ‘All Creatures Great & Small Family Day’
Saturday 10th August – Redcar ‘Caribbean Carnival Day’
Sunday 18th August – Pontefract ‘In the Zone Family Day’
Monday 19th August – Catterick ‘Carnival Family Day’
Sunday 25th August – Beverley ‘Circus Family Raceday’
Monday 26th August – Ripon ‘Bank Holiday Family Day’
Friday 30th August – Thirsk ‘Pirates Family Day’

Sunday 8th September – York ‘Family Raceday with Chase from Paw Patrol’

Latest News
CATTERICK RACES LEADS THE WAY IN THE STYLE STAKES ON LADIES’ DAY

It’s time to dress to impress as Catterick Racecourse prepares for Ladies’ Day on Wednesday 28 August. Amongst the racing action, there will be fashion competitions, live music and complimentary cocktails! The gates open at 12.20pm on Wednesday 28 August and racegoers will be keen to arrive early as the first 100 ladies to visit the Yorkshire Dales Distillery stand will be treated to a complimentary Rhubarb Gin or Bramble Berry Gin cocktail on arrival. The first race gets under starters orders at 2.20pm, while the feature race, the Ernest Norris (1919 – 1992) Memorial Handicap Stakes is scheduled for 3.50pm. In between races, racegoers can enjoy live music performed by Elena Larkin, a 21-year old singer-songwriter from Hartlepool and the fashion stakes are high as ladi... (Read More)